First Blog Post:Fashion & Me!

Hey y’all my name is Kaci McDowell, and I am starting my first Blog……Kaci’s Fashion World. Ever since I was a little girl I have always been extremely interested in the world of fashion. I love how fashion is always changing; which is why I love the quote by the French philosopher Gilles Lipovetsky,

“Fashion is one of the faces of modern artifice, of the effort of human beings to make themselves masters of the conditions of their own existence.”

Fashion is always changing as well as evolving.  I also love that you can go anywhere in the world and the fashion culture will differ.

I feel as if fashion is the best way to express yourself.  Fashion can show your personality as a person.  Fashion does an amazing job of expressing your mood, which I absolutely love!  In fact, our clothes say so much about who we are.  Even refusing to follow fashion trends gives an individual a way to express themselves, which on its own, can be a fashion trend. Wearing particular styles can also help to create a new identity for individuals, whether this change is to fit a particular mood, a life change, or even a new career. Fashion is the best way to express yourself as an individual!

Even as a little girl with my dolls, I always had to make sure they were dressed perfectly.  Now I have to ensure I always have the updated fashion trends!  One of my favorite things to do is to go to the mall with my mom and just look in all the stores and see all the new trends that are occurring.  I love seeing how styles change as the seasons change!  Winter trends are extremely different from Summer trends, and being able to witness and understand the differences just makes me smile. I have learned that when you improve your style you can find that life becomes more exciting!

One of my favorite quotes of all time is by the famous Coco Chanel and it reads,

“Fashion is not something that exists in dresses only. Fashion is in the sky, in the street; fashion has to do with ideas, the way we live, what is happening.”

Fashion can tell you about what people wore during a certain period of time, which can also tell you all about their lifestyle as well.

Fashion has always been my heart and soul!

Hope y’all enjoy!

unknown
New York City

Leave a Reply

